Making lesbians happy – one book at a time!

THE JUICE DEBACLE

It worked when my mom did it. She’d chopped up a bunch of veggies, put them in her Ninja and swirled the hell out of them. When she’d first told me about her Ninja I thought perhaps she’d hired a security system—as in a small green turtle with karate moves.

She poured the puke-colored mixture in a glass and we both studied it. “I think it’s okay. Let’s give it a try,” she said brightly.
kale

My father walked by without making eye contact. “Do you want a veggie smoothie?” I asked.

“No. If I’m going to drink my vegetables I’ll have a can of V-8.  Preferably with Stoli,” he said.

stoli

“I think that defeats the purpose,” my mother replied. We sanctimoniously toasted to our good health. We drank it. It tasted okay.

When I got home I took a look in our vegetable compartment. We had spinach, carrots, celery, tomatoes and cucumbers. That seemed like a good mix. I figured I’d make my own V-8 sans the Stoli. I added some garlic, a dash of ketchup and this hemp seed stuff we’d been using in our oatmeal. It’s supposed to help with inflammation. This was like nature’s perfect food. I juiced away. I took a taste. It didn’t taste like V-8.  Maybe some salt and pepper. I whirled again.

v8-vegetable-juice-12oz-bottles-12ct-case-1

I poured two glasses and took one to Layce. She was reading in the den. “I brought you lunch.”

“What is that?” She said, studying the glass.

Now, I admit it didn’t look good. It was kind of an orange, green, and chunky kind of thing. In hindsight, I should have used a non-see-through glass. The presentation would’ve been better.

“It’s a veggie smoothie, super healthy, low in calories and tastes like V-8,” I said, putting on my best imitation of a used car salesman. “Just try it.”

“You go first,” Layce said.

“All right,” I said. I took a large swallow and managed not to gag. “See, it’s fine.”

Layce eyed me suspiciously. I took another swallow. “I can feel myself getting healthier just standing here.”

She sniffed it. She tried to swirl it around like a wine taster. It didn’t budge. Finally she took the plunge. Now in hindsight again—don’t stand in front of someone when they’re having a veggie smoothie for the first time. She blinked. She tried to swallow, she gagged. And then she spewed a veggie smoothie projectile that managed to avoid hitting the carpet because it hit me instead.

I looked down at my T-shirt. “I didn’t think it was that bad.”

“It needs definitely needs vodka to kill the taste,” Layce said.

Making the world a happier place one book at a time.CLT new cover(1)

Available at Amazon, and Barnes and Noble

Comments on: "THE JUICE DEBACLE" (4)

  1. Sheri Campbell said:

    Gee, it sounded ok Saxon…what do you think made it not taste GREAT???? Did you add any water..maybe water was bad. That would do it. Hope you try it again…add tomato juice. Tabasco too. You are a good partner, fixing lunch for the wife……good or bad…. Thanks for the post.

    • I am not certain what went wrong but things often do. In our house I do the lunches and Layce does the dinner. Lunch is pretty simple if not Layce makes it just to avoid kitchen disasters. Emma is becoming quite the cook as well.

  2. That sounded horrible Saxon just ick that’s it ick oh and bleck too ; )

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

