Making lesbians happy – one book at a time!

Squeezing Lemons

“I don’t want to look at any more cows. I mean it,” I whined and looked out the window morosely.
“Just chill,” Layce said.
“Don’t drive so fast. You might miss a turn off,” I said. I eyed the horizon looking for a green sign to tell us we can turn around and go home.
“We’re six miles into this. We’re going to Coweta.”
Layce and I had finished our bike ride on the Centennial Trail in Muskogee. We got in the car intent on heading home and somehow we missed the turn off and now we’re headed I don’t know where.
“Where’s Coweta?” I asked.
“It’s Co/wee/ta. Not Co/we/ta.”
“I’m a non-native speaker. I’m allowed to mispronounce names of towns in the middle of all these cows.”
“I’ve said it three times now,” Layce said.
“Whatever.”
We got onto a turn pike. “Oh, my God, we don’t have the Pike pass. Do you have a quarter?”
“Yes,” Layce said calmly.
“What would we do if we didn’t have a quarter?” I asked.
“We’d have to make a run for it.”
“But they have cameras. We’d get a ticket. Are you sure there isn’t a turn off somewhere around here?” I asked. I was getting a bad feeling about this Coweta thing.
Layce gave me a handful of coins. “Why don’t you look through this change and see if there’s any quarters minted before 1967. You can sell them on eBay because they contain real silver.”
I recalled a story about how Layce threw a jar of change out in the backyard and told Emma if she found it all she could keep it. Layce hadn’t counted what was in the so every time Emma brought the money to her Layce would claim there was more. I was getting that same vibe.
We passed the Big Red Barn antique store that also sold soup and sandwiches. “Let’s go look at stuff and get something to eat,” Layce said.
“Okay. Do you know where we are?”
“Of course, we’re near Wagner and Proctor and Tulsa.”
“For sure?” I studied her face for any signs of recalcitrance. I didn’t see any.
We sit down to lunch and have fabulous potato soup and a chicken salad sandwich. I feel at one with the Universe.
“See, this is a make lemonade moment,” Layce said.
“I feel more like I was the squeezed lemon.” My eyes go wide. “Oh, my God, I’m tainted. I touched all those coins and I didn’t wash my hands before I ate.”
“I left the car window open and it rained on them. I’d consider that clean. No one has touched them in a while. I think you’ll be all right.”
“You left the car window open? Do you know how much damage that can do to the interior mechanics of a car door?”
Layce dug in her pocket and came out with a bunch of change. She tossed the coins into the center of the dining room floor. “You go find it, it’s yours,” she said.
I scrambled. This was another make lemonade moment.

Comments on: "Squeezing Lemons" (1)

  1. No matter how bad a day I have had, you always manage to cheer me up Saxon so thank you.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

